Apple Donuts

An Easy Peasy snack

So around my house we try to eat a lot of fruit and veggie snacks. I wish I were the uber-creative mom that spends the extra time to arrange carrot sticks into a park scene or some such. Alas, that is just not me, at least not lately.

However there is one family snack that is always a hit, and impresses friends on playdates, too: apple donuts. I would love to take credit for inventing this treat (thank you, thank you) but really all credit goes to my mother-in-law here. She is so NOT the lazy housewife model, in case you wonder. She created this for her two boys and I learned of it after she fed it to Tike. And Tike loved it.

You ready for this doozy of a recipe? Here goes:

Core an apple
Peel it (I skip this step)
Slice it cross-ways to make ‘donuts’
sprinkle cinnamon on top (optional)

*Also works great for pears

Tike will eat an ENTIRE piece of fruit in this manner. Good mom gold star.

About theBADhousewife

nature-loving, kid-chasing, housework-hating, dinner-cooking, paper-whoring, bibliophile and general dweeb.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apple Donuts

  1. jennajadee says:

    I came by early to like your post before getting my kiddo off to bed. But what a nice idea! It would also be nice just as something different/simple to take to gatherings. đŸ™‚ thanks for sharing

So whattya think?

