Impermeable Layers

I walked today. And ate fruit for breakfast. I’m feeling good today, I’ve already gotten quite a  bit done. The weather is overcast and cool and I am appreciating that. I could definitely move back to PNW, I think. (I wish!)

Oddly, though, I am feeling super social right now. And what, you ask, am I going to do about it…Well.  Harumph. Not much, unfortunately, except blog about it.

My BFF has, you  know, a day job, plus is probably not feeling well today. My other BFF is in the UK with her family for a baptism, a wedding, and a funeral. How’s that for a packed vacation? And even if none of that were true, they live 12 and 3 hours away, respectively. Why the eff don’t I have friends out here? Well, I am working on it. I have friends with kids whom I can arrange a playdate with. Maybe at some point they’ll be friends I can call up spontaneously to see if they want to go shopping or hang out or something.

What is it about adult life that seems so impenetrable? I am thinking of women I know here, and their routines  and everything they do every day that makes it feel necessary to plan ahead most of the time. Is it just my perceptions, or is it kind of true? Part of it is feeling comfortable enough not to feel like “Holy crap, someone’s coming over, I have to scrub the house.” I don’t have that problem with my BFFs. But almost anyone else… and I am sure it goes both ways.

Gr. Anyhoot. I feel quite accomplished and it isn’t even lunch time. At some point Tike will come home from his grandparents’ house and hopefully, I won’t lose my momentum. I have been letting him watch way too much TV, in part because  I was so tired. Maybe we will tear up magazines together. Have fun, cross something off the ‘TO DO’ list, good plan. I think I’ll keep it.

I also decided how to deal with some people in my life who need to be at arm’s length for a while. I knew it was something I needed to do, but actually doing it has been causing me some anxiety. I think I finally came up with a way to handle it that will not burn bridges unnecessarily but will still allow me some breathing room (and growing room?).

And finally, there’s another camping trip on the horizon. With the sick BFF. We’re meeting in the middle, near redwoods and the beach. We have arranged a long weekend, and I can’t WAIT! It might be rainy… oh well.

Okay, I am going to try to do something useful with this bizarre social energy… wish me luck.

About theBADhousewife

nature-loving, kid-chasing, housework-hating, dinner-cooking, paper-whoring, bibliophile and general dweeb.
This entry was posted in Interwebz, Whatever. Bookmark the permalink.

So whattya think?

